Blog Post #1

My Aunt is a Teacher so growing up I always got corrected on my English. Whenever I was talking to her or having a conversation with a family member and I used the words “finna”, “bout”, or “ain’t” she would always stop me and say “what did you just say”. At first I didn’t know what she was talking about so I would repeat myself and she would say “you not finna do anything” and would make me say my entire sentence over using correct English. Still to this day she does that and she told me that I will never get a good job talking like that. Just like I became used to using those slang words, she wanted to be used to using proper English. I believe everyone did, but I also got corrected on my writing in high school. As a whole my writing is just bad. Sometimes I would get corrected on my verb usage other times it would be things like commas or apostrophes. When ever I would email my advisory Teacher, Ms. Martin, I would use a lot of informal language like hey or wassup and not put periods at the end of my sentence. She would always reply with try again and no matter what I emailed her about she would never respond to my question or statement until I sent her a proper email. This reminds me my boyfriend would also correct me whenever I would use incorrect verb tense. It was always embarrassing because he says I sound like i’m uneducated. I believe that they always corrected me on my English, writing, or grammar not just because there was a correct way of speaking and writing, but also because as a minority I already face many barriers that many upper class students don’t and speaking and writing shouldn’t be one of them.

One thought on “Blog Post #1

  1. Dear Bryana,
    You blog post was very interesting to read. I think you did a really good job in showing your personal experience with language, and writing. My favorite part of the post was the ending because it’s a self-realization on how you can improve. A couple things you can work on is sentence structure towards the end of the post, and finding words that can enhance your piece. Overall you did a great job!

    Like

Leave a comment